1984

What started out as a reading assignment for English has turned into a different outlook on life. 1984 by George Orwell is a startling tale of how our life could have ended up. Instead of reading a story, I learned about an alternate timeline of history. Needless to say, I am frightened. You may be able to read this novel and laugh in Big Brother’s face, but our addiction to technology is one of growing proportions. According to NBC News, young people spend 16.7 hours a week online. (I am ashamed to report that I am likely part of this statistic.) Although I am an advocate of how technology is giving us the advantage of harnessing knowledge, I also believe that we need to spend time without it. I will not give out spoilers of this book, but I will persuade you to get off the internet to read it. 1984 changes the perspective of instant information and how our minds have been corrupted by hours of mindless television. Maybe you’ll even step outside for a while.

DOWN WITH BIG BROTHER

Leave a Reply

